Beginner’s Guide to Becoming a Writer in 2020

The first couple of questions to ask yourself if you want to be a writer;

Let us take a look at factors to check off before becoming an independent writer in 2020 & how it will impact on your new career as a writer;

  • What content form are you good at
  • Whether you can write meaningful words rather than merely pretty words
  • Whether or not writing gives you basic contentment and helps you gain confidence
  • Do you love the financial aid writing provides you or the mere pleasure of writing

Write your answers to the questions above on a piece of paper and analyze whether you are pursuing writing as a passion or merely a mode of income.

(There will be other ways to monetize your writing if that is what you are looking at)

On multiple occasions when I was asked how I started my writing journey, I have shared the story of my childhood when I had a self-developed skill to translate every Kannada/Hindi story/book I read to English. That has helped me a lot in gaining a good grasp of my linguistics. Besides that, being multilingual helped in many ways.

[image belongs to the respective owner]

At the beginning of my writer’s journey I posed these questions to decide;

I evaluated and came to a conclusion as follows-

  • Ability to listen to people
  • Keep the audience intrigued
  • Ability to gather people and listen to my stories/experiences 
  • I am an ardent reader and fan of fiction
  • I am open to criticism and harsh comments. It helps me overcome my impediments
  • Moving people with various types of stories makes you a good writer
  • Naturally, I tend to customize my narrating style with my changing audience/readers
  • I know that I am flawed and imperfect but my will to learn makes me grow constantly

Analyzing and making myself aware of my flaws and gravitating qualities as a writer pushed me to further write and guide people who want to.

WRITER’S DESK [IMAGE BELONGS TO THE RESPECTIVE OWNER]

Things that I have learned during my professional years as a writer;

  • Story writers have a knack for solving problems effortlessly as they tend to do so in their stories
  • Always run your piece of writing(whatever form) through grammar checking online tools
  • Always read another person’s story and be helpful in their journey
  • You can use innumerable metaphors that can be drawn from your own experiences, stories you have read, and/or make it up with your creativity
  • Motivate peers & fellow writers by commenting and taking interest in their blogs
  • We all possess unique skills and talent to showcase to the world. If you are innately good at any form of writing and expressions comes to your mind spontaneously, you need to polish your skill, time and time again
  • Writing in the Digital era is surely not a cakewalk but for sure will reward you after

Leave a comment